Skip to content

Discover the Power of Self-Love!

April 14, 2011

Every day I practice self-love to the best of my ability, and this practice helps me be at my best. But what is self-love, exactly?

I define self-love as loving, kind, and compassionate treatment of myself. Self-love is taking care of my mental, emotional and physical health. I believe that I deserve to be loved, just as I believe that every one of you deserves love, too. Expressing this love and care I feel for the world starts with myself.

Self-love is not a behavior I practice at the expense of others, just as I do not practice loving someone else at the expense of myself. When my life is in balance, I love myself and others equally, treating every person with kindness, respect and compassion, and doing harm to none.

In his book, The Art of Loving, psychologist Erich Fromm explored the idea of self-love, suggesting that self-love is different from arrogance or conceit. Instead, Fromm suggests self-love signifies care of, responsibility for, respect for and knowing oneself. By practicing self-love, we are better able to share and show love to others.

Self-love is a practice and a belief and there are many different ways we can exercise self-love in our lives. Here are a few ideas to consider:

~Look at yourself in the mirror and say, “I love you.” Say it often and say it loud! This exercise may feel silly or strange in the beginning, but soon it will feel wonderful.

~Treat yourself with kindness. If you make a mistake, try not to beat yourself up or think self-deprecating thoughts. Let a kind thought or word replace an unkind one.

~Take care of your needs. Are you hungry, angry, lonely or tired? HALT and get something healthy to eat, go for walk to cool down, call a friend or family member, or get some much needed rest.

~Accept responsibility for your attitude. When you feel the urge to blame a bad mood on the traffic, or your co-worker, or some other outside source, take a deep breath and accept responsibility for your attitude. Outside factors can influence your attitude, and you decide what you hang on to and what you let go.

~Recognize your talents and accomplishments. Think of something you do well or an achievement you made at work and take a moment to simply be aware of your skills. You’re awesome in your own way!

Self-love and self-confidence are attractive qualities that will allow you to experience love in every area of your life! Love yourself to be your best, feel your best and live your best life.

How will you share your love with yourself and the world today?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 1:50 am

    Great post, Chrysta. The very phrase ‘self-love’ can sound really icky, and have connotations of arrogance and conceit – however, as you say, this is NOT what it’s about. It’s crucial to value yourself, like yourself and take care of yourself. If you don’t, you’re hindering your own potential.

    • April 21, 2011 6:30 pm

      I agree completely, Annabelle. I think some might misunderstand what I mean when I use the term “self-love”, however I think, once explained, most people would agree that taking care of yourself (without harming others) and minding your own potential essential to achieve success- however you define success.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. June 23, 2011 12:59 pm

    Chrysta, you really have a talent in simplifying complicated concepts, so that they’re easier to digest and seem doable/possible! I especially identify with the idea of taking care of my needs. I can get overly obsessed with giving and pleasing others that I completely forget about myself.

    Reminding myself of these points seem so worth it when the end result is “feeling my best!” Thanks so much for this reminder! =)

    • June 23, 2011 5:59 pm

      Sam,

      Thanks so much for your comment and kindness! Taking care of my needs is so important to my physical and emotional health and happiness.

      I know just how important it is because I used to put everyone else’s needs and wants before my own. Not only did everyone else continue to be ill/unhappy or however else they choose to be anyway, I was ill and unhappy, too. Once I started taking care of myself, at least one of us was in good mental and physical health! =)

      Chrysta

Trackbacks

  1. Love Yourself: Links to Love « Live Love Work
  2. Love Yourself: Links to Love - Chrysta Bairre

Leave a comment